Autumn Makeup Essentials

IMG_8457

In the spirit of the season of change I’m changing up my makeup routine and retiring certain products until Spring. Autumn is probably my favourite season for its combination of bold and pared back looks so read on if you want to find out what essential products will be coming out to play in my kit.

Face

The Look

As the tan fades it’s all about creating a flawless base for your makeup. Always include a  moisturiser to keep your skin hydrated during the cooler months. I usually have to swap foundations in Autumn since my skin starts to lighten up. Check your foundation is the right colour. If not, you might need to swap for one a couple of shades lighter.

Bright and glittery blushes should be swapped for nude and light plum colours.

autumn_foundation

(Source)

The Makeup

I love the emphasis on porcelain skin in Autumn as it creates a gorgeous contrast against the richer colours you wear. I’ll be swapping out my Garnier BB Cream for my fuller coverage L’Oreal True Match foundation.

Eyes

The Look

Autumn colours will be playing a part in my eye makeup looks. I’ll be adding more warmer, tawnier shades and switching silver for richer hues.

For a less dramatic look try layering up your mascara to create spidery lashes and open up your eyes.

After all your hard work is done don’t forget to frame your eyes with strong, groomed brows.

autumn_eyes

(Source)

The Makeup

Autumn is the perfect time to try bolder colours. I love plum shades or rich brown with copper and gold. I’ll be using less of my neutral palettes and more of my Coastal Scents Hot Pots. Check out my Autumn Leaves post for some gold, red and brown shades from their collection.

Lips

The Look

As much as I have loved the bright almost neon lipstick shades of the Summer I’m excited to start wearing some grungier merlot and burgundy shades.  If you are looking to make less of a statement or want to focus attention on your eyes, nudes are a popular choice this season.

autumn_lips

(Source)

The Makeup

It’s goodbye for now to all of my bright lipsticks for more muted nudes and deep reds and burgundies. For my nude shades I’ll be diving into my Sleek Lip Palette in Ballet, my Revlon matte lipstick in Mauve it Over and my new Natural Collection lipstick in Raspberry for a “my lips but better” shade. For the bolder looks it’s going to be Rimmel Kiss of Life, Topshop Beguiled and NYC Mahogany.

What are your makeup essentials for Fall?

xo

One thought on “Autumn Makeup Essentials

Leave a Reply

