What’s in My Makeup Bag: California Edition

bag

I’m currently road tripping up the West Coast and due to time and luggage constraints I have picked my must have products for a road trip/beach holiday.

To see what beach makeup looks I’m loving this summer, check out my Beauty and the Beach Post.

(I want to give a quick mention to the two talented ladies behind Chic and Alluring and That Makeup Ish blogs that did guest posts while I had exams. Thank you ladies! Be sure to check them out. And thank you to all my followers for your great feedback.)

Now, on with the post!

All Over Products

Sunscreen!

I’m not going to recommend a specific brand or factor because everyone is different. I just want to put an emphasis on the importance of wearing sunscreen period. There are lots of discounts and two-for-one deals in shops at the moment so buy plenty. You should always start off with a higher factor and only switch to a lower factor if your skin builds up a tan.

There is no point getting burnt hoping it will turn to tan. Always use sun block on any burnt areas and avoid the sun when possible between 11am and 2pm. Look after your skin, or else its going to be painful and peel and you’ll be as pale as you started. Lecture over!

Face Products

Laura Mercier Tinted Moistuiriser SPF 20

SPF (sun protection factor) is really important for any makeup you wear out in the sun. This is my favourite tinted moistuiriser because of its light weight feel and natural looking coverage.

Benefit Posie Tint Liquid Blush

This is a gorgeous natural looking light weight blush perfect for adding colour to your cheeks. I have found the best way to apply it is to add some to both of your ring fingers and pat into your cheeks gently along the apple of you cheeks up to and across your cheek bones.

MAC Skinfinish Mineralize in Light +

This gives lovely light coverage and reduces shine. It keeps your makeup in place and gives you a natural looking semi-matte finish. It’s perfect for applying over sunscreen or a moistuiriser to absorb excess oils.

Lip Products

Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me (Tinted Lipbalm)

Sadly, I lost this little guy somewhere in LA. I’ve been using Burt’s Bees as a replacement until I repurchase it.

Revlon Just Bitten Balm Stain in Rendezvous

Both these lip products give a subtle pop of colour to the lips without looking overdone on the beach. They are also easy to carry in a beach bag or purse to re-apply as necessary. I always put sunscreen on my lips first since there is no SPF in either of these but you can find lip balms with a decent SPF.

Eye Products

Naked Palette 3

Using the lighter half of the shades in Naked 3, you can create a variety of gorgeous daytime looks. Any neutral palette will do really. For a quick daytime look just sweep a highlighter shade all over your lids and use a slightly deeper shade in your crease.

Covergirl Lash Blast Waterproof Mascara

Waterproof is the operative word here. This mascara has stayed put while I have been swimming, sunbathing and (I’ll be honest) even while trying to it take it off. It’s stubborn, but you need that in a mascara that won’t leave you panda-eyed on the beach.

Makeup Brushes

Coastal Scents Flat Buffer Brush

This can be used to buffer in setting powders or to blend face products into the skin.

Coastal Scents Pro Blending Brush

A multipurpose brush for adding colour to the crease, blending out eye shadow and applying highlighter to your brow bone.

Coastal Scents Large Shadow Brush

To pack on colour onto your lid.

~

Don’t forget to accessorize with sunnies, hats and flowers!

WP_000469

WP_000502

 

Have I missed out on anything? Leave your suggestions below.

xo

Facebook|Pinterest|Instagram

Leave a Reply

