Coastal Scents 22 Piece Brush Set

csbrushes

Review

After my first set of makeup brushes were a massive disappointment I was really careful about buying cheap brush sets again. I did a LOT of research, talked myself in and out of buying this set but when it went on sale I finally bit the bullet.

Admittedly, it was an anxious 12 day wait as I prayed for them to arrive before I headed off to the US on exchange (I’m from Ireland). But when they finally did, I couldn’t have been more pleased. The face brushes are sleek and dense. The large domed brush (2) has actually replaced my Real Techniques stippling brush.

As the more critical reviews may have mentioned, there is some initial shedding, more so with the eye brushes. After the first wash though, they are perfect.

Of course, in sets like these, there are always brushes you could do without/replace for others. I never use my doe foot brush, and it is shaped a little crookedly. You also get three eyeliner brushes of varying sizes where really one would suffice.

Another con is that after extensive use the handle on a couple of the face brushes came loose. This may be a deal breaker for some but considering the price, I’m happy to use superglue as long as the brushes work well.

All in all, it’s still a fab set considering what you pay for it. The brush roll is portable and feels luxurious in comparison to my previous roll (think pink plastic crocodile skin). The collection itself is sufficient for beginners but is also a great addition to any makeup brush collection.

Despite any short comings I listed previously (they are fairly minor ones in my eyes) you are not going to get a better set for the price. I have already recommended them to friends and if they get lost/damaged/eaten I will repurchase them before buying from the more expensive brands.

Obviously not all the brushes can compare to more expensive brands, but the angle brush (5) does not shed and blends better than my Mac 109.

Verdict: 9/10

csbrushes2

What I Use Each Brush For

  1. Fan brush – I usually use this to remove any fallout from my eye shadow. It is also ideal to apply highlighter to the cheekbones, nose, Cupid’s bow and chin.
  2. Powder buffer brush (my favourite brush) – I use this to buffer my (liquid) foundation into my skin. This brush doesn’t cause any streaking and blends foundation into the skin impeccably.
  3. Round buffer brush – I use this to blend out any liquid concealer, highlighter and eye shadow base.
  4. Flat buffer brush – This is perfect for applying pressed powder. It’s also great for blending out any harsh contouring or blush.
  5. Angle brush – Sadly, this brush has frayed a little since I washed it. Even so, it’s better than my Mac 109 for contouring.
  6. Foundation brush – I’m not a fan of this brush so I have passed this on to my sister. There are better foundation brushes in this set.
  7. Concealer brush – Since this brush is nice and stiff I prefer to use it to apply a base or cream eye shadow.
  8. Large shadow brush – Great for applying colour all over the lid.
  9. Blender brush – Perfect to blend transition colours.
  10. Doe foot blender brush – Binned it.
  11. Dome shadow brush – Great for applying strong colour into the outer corner or blend out eyeliner.
  12. Dome blender brush – I use this gorgeously soft brush to blend out crease colour.
  13. Medium shadow brush – Good for applying spotlight shades to the centre of the eyelid.
  14. Detail shadow brush – Great for adding a highlighter to the inner corner of the eyelid.
  15. Lip brush – Just as instructed I use this to apply lipstick.
  16. Detail Concealer – I use this to apply concealer below my eyeliner on my lower lid to stop it bleeding.
  17. Pointed blender brush – Don’t try to apply any colour with this brush as it applies unevenly. Not bad for blending out shades in the outer corner.
  18. Brow brush – Can be used for the brows but I prefer to use it to apply shadow as eyeliner.
  19. Smudger sponge – A bit hard but ok for softening harsh gel liner.
  20. 21 & 22 Liner/Brow brushes – I use the largest to fill out my brows and the smallest as to apply gel eyeliner.

xo

3 thoughts on “Coastal Scents 22 Piece Brush Set

  1. Pingback: May Favourites | lisa sherin

Leave a Reply

