Romantic Evening Look

IMG_6286

Inspired by my flowers from a lovely stranger on Valentine’s Day, I created this simple, sultry Valentine’s-esque look. I kept my eyes uncomplicated with warm neutral colours and to dress it up a bit I added a pop of colour with a tinted lip balm. I also used a bright blush to add a little glow to my cheeks.

The look took about 15 minutes to create, start to finish. It should be easy to replicate but I’ve also included a step by step guide below. If you want to take this look from evening to night time add eyeliner and a darker crease colour to intensify the look.

Products Used

  • Moisturiser – Molton Brown Hydrator
  • Concealer – Hard Candy Glamoflauge – Light
  • Foundation – L’Oreal True Match – Vanilla Rose
  • Setting Powder – Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Powder – Light +
  • Bronzer – Mac – Matte Bronze
  • Eye Shadow Palette – UD Naked Palette 2 – Foxy, Bootycall, Tease, YDK, Busted
  • Blush – Elf – Tickled Pink
  • Tinted Lip Balm – Maybelline – Baby Lips Cherry Me
  • Mascara – Maybelline – Colossal Cat Eyes

Step by Step

With my hands, I applied my Molton Brown Hydrator to fresh skin. I used none in this look but if you wanted your makeup to last longer I suggest using a primer as well.

Using my CS* round powder brush I applied a light layer of Hard Candy concealer to cover any redness. Then using my CS powder buffer brush I applied my foundation. (Coastal Scents have called them powder brushes but I find them equally suitable for liquid products). I set this with my CS flat buffer brush and my setting powder. This helps buff the products into your skin and also reduces any shine.

Next, I moved onto contouring. I used a CS angle brush to apply a matte bronzer. Using an Up & Up powder brush I applied Elf’s Tickled Pink blush just above the bronzer.

Tip: If your bronzer or blush is too harsh you can blend it out with a buffer brush and add more setting powder if needs be. Also avoid products with a lot of shimmer for a more natural look.

Now, for the eyes. I didn’t use a primer though it helps to hold the colour. If you have plenty of time go for it but it’s not essential for the look.

I usually start with a light colour as the base (Foxy), bringing it all the way up to the brow bone. You can use any flat or fluffy brush for this step. Then I started adding colour (Tease) into my crease with a crease brush. You need to blend this out across the crease to create contouring in the socket.

IMG_6278

Tip: To keep it looking natural, focus on building colour and using a light hand when applying eye shadow, blush and bronzer.

Then you can add more contrast. I used the CS detail brush to apply a highlight shade (Bootycall) to the inner corner of my eye. Then I took my Elf ‘C’ brush to add a darker shade (Busted) to the outer corner and into the outer crease. To smooth the transition between light and dark shades I applied YDK with a flat brush from the middle to outer corner. Again blending is important here, so use a blending brush to blur any harsh outlines.

Tip: When using dark eye shadows be sure to tap off the excess before applying to avoid fallout. You can use a clean fan brush to gently remove any fallout.

IMG_6282

Lastly, I applied my mascara and a tinted lip balm.

*All my CS (Coastal Scents) brushes are from the 22 piece set.

Let me know if you try this look or have any suggestions/questions/requests.

xo

Leave a Reply

